La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

My Dear Valentino

with 2 comments

I have been in love with Valentino’s gorgeous dresses for as long as I can remember. There is just that little “something” about them that keeps them looking elegant where any other dress would look tacky. My wedding dress is going to be a Valentino if it means I and the poor bastard who happens to marry me have to live on the street.

However, this fall, my eye fell on something elce, more precisely his gorgeous coats. I am obsessed with finding the perfect coat that keeps me warm, looks stylish, and is so timeless that I might put it on in ten years and not look outdated one bit. So once I saw Valentino’s fall/winter collection, I prayed for myself to win the lottery, just to get one of his coats. And started looking for an equivalent in high street stores, without much success.

Until last Saturday, when I was out shopping yet again, trying to find something to keep me warm during the winter. I saw a small boutique which was closing down, and was selling the winter collection to a reduced price, and  without high expectations I walked in.

There were only two coats left, and I swear my heart froze a little when I saw the small logo on the brass buttons. The perfect Valentino coat, just how I wanted it, black, a classic A-line shape and most importantly, to a price I know I will never ever see a Valentino again. After having made a compromise with myself to eat noodle soup for the next three months, I got it (umm, and a pair of shoes, and a bag, but that’s a whole other story).

The only thing I don’t like about it, is that it is almost down to my mid-calf, while I have never worn a coat or trench longer than above the knee before. I’m afraid  it might overpower me, although everyone I asked thought it looked good. Should I have it shortened, or is it idiotic to risk ruining a designer coat that looks good as it is?

Here are the pictures of my beauty. I was trying to channel old Hollywood glamour, but thinking of it, I ended up looking more like an oppressed woman from Iran rather than Audrey Hepburn or Jackie O. Note to self: Do not wear all black while rocking a headscarf.

cimg2141cimg2139

Coat: Valentino Scarf: H&M Sunglasses: Gina Tricot

Written by Tonia

November 24, 2008 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t cut it! It looks gorgeous! And even though it might feel a bit overpowering now, as you’re new to the length, you might love it in years to come. Keep it the way it is, you lucky bastard;D

    How much was it, if you don’t mind me asking?❤

    Maria

    November 26, 2008 at 9:48 pm

  2. hihi, I must say I am used to the length already. It is awesome during cold days. I got it for 660 euros, and it’s about 1100 e without discount

    Tonia

    November 27, 2008 at 9:09 pm


Leave a Reply

