La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

What up, Doc?

leave a comment »

I am wondering how many other fashion bloggers have used this title to express their love of Dr. Martens.

I am not what you would usually consider a Doc Marten wearing person. I consider myself the four-inch-heel queen, and can be often seen rocking my platform booties while running around the campus. Yet there are times when a girl needs a pair of practical footwear that also is fierce. And I’m not gonna lie, Docs are fierce, unlike the horror of Crocs or Merrels.

I initially wanted the red patent eight hole pair, but fell for my matte purple pair in the end, which I feel is much more versatile. Although these babies have cushioned soles, don’t expect them to be comfy the first couple of wears, since the leather is pretty rough. It does soften after a while though, especially if you treat the boots well.

Now to the fun part: Mixing and matching outfits with your new shoes. You want to look like that quirky, stylish girl, not the teenage angst cliche. So please, avoid the stereotypical crap. Mix and match, and tone the style down a little if nescessary.

What I feel always goes with docs is the simple yet stylish combo of skinny jeans, an oversized tee, a blazer and quirky accessories. I feel like the simplicity of the outfit keeps it from looking too “mall punk”. If you do not have any adversions to wearing leggings as pants (I don’t), I feel that varous types of leggings combined with the same oversized tee and a leather jacket would look fierce as well.

This is an outfit I wore out last saturday. The party was crap, but I had a chance to show off my outfit. And at least they played awesome music there!

cimg2132cimg2124cimg2130

Jeans: Lee Shirt: Gina Tricot Blazer: Pimkie Boots: Dr Martens Bag, hairband and bracelet: H&M

Written by Tonia

November 24, 2008 at 6:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

