La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

Racy lacy

with 4 comments

cimg2345cimg2344cimg2343

Bik Bok cardigan, H&M scarf and hat, Indiska tights, Din Sko shoes, Anne Christine bolero, Iris Horbach bag, vintage brooche.

I hate wasting clothes with a passion, so if I receive an ugly item as a gift or fall out of love with something in my closet, I still try to integrate it into an outfit somehow, and it might even end up looking hot. This lace bolero was bought for ten euros at a cheapo trendwhore store to be worn on Halloween where I dressed up as (savour the originality) pussycat. Since lace was pretty in for the fall, it shouldn’t have had any problem being worn except for one: I hate boleros with a passion. They are probably the most tacky, trashy (in a bad, ghetto way) garment I can think of. That, or they just remind me of some old aunt. So how do I avoid it lying around without use?

The solution was to wear it as a set of lacy sleeves under a sleeveless dress or sweater. It integrated into the outfit pretty well, in my opinion. Oh, and my camera has been acting up lately, which is the reason my face is blue. Call me crazy, but I like the imperfect colours though. They make the photos look a little… old school.

Written by Tonia

January 14, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a great way to make a bolero un-bolero-ish. It looks more like Prada than tacky 80s. Well done! Lovely outfit.

    catherine

    January 15, 2009 at 1:04 am

  2. no i love the sleeves! very good idea! you look so warm. your bag is great too..fit so much into that! xxx LM

    LoveMore

    January 15, 2009 at 10:37 am

  3. oh and i WISH they came in 3 days (topshop orders!)…i was saying that cos it was like 3 days before i had made the order. ha yes i wish they came that soon! my first one too…so who knows how long it will really take. xxx LM

    LoveMore

    January 15, 2009 at 10:39 am

  4. Catherine: Thanks! I suspect the high neck on the cardi and the scarf made it look a little classier.
    LoveMore: Hihi, my bag was actually filled to the limit with my Topshop purchases that were sent to my bf’s place. They claim it takes 5 working days for orders within europe, but the truth is, it takes 7 because nomatter when you order, you always get the weekend in the delivery time.

    Tonia

    January 15, 2009 at 12:54 pm


Leave a Reply

