La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

In many situations caloric theory can be used to explain the observations made – particularly when a hot and a cold object are involved.

with 6 comments

cimg2374-kopi1cimg2371cimg2372

Warehouse dress, old Mango cardi, New Yorker biker jacket, Voice of Europe beanie, old Bjorn Borg booties, H&M bag, random crap on my hands from Bijou Brigitte and my boyfriend

Channeling subtle geek chic in this posts title (the quote is from my physics book) and unable to keep my eyes opened in the wind.

I often wonder how the memories and emotions connected to a certain item make us hold on to it, and occassionaly wear it even when it starts looking like crap. Take for instance these booties, beat up to death and with a way too low heel. I got them one fall while still in high school, and they were what I believed back then to be my first pair of super high heels (the heel is about eight centimetres and these  are my lowest heeled shoes by now, besides some vintage kitten heels, but I tend to call those “flats”). However, they did make me almost a whole head taller than my then-BFF. Our friendship lasted about as long as the illusion that those heels are, in fact, mindblowingly tall, but the shoes are still in my closet, and even getting a little wear once in a while.

I also find myself unable to part from gift given to me by people I like a lot, even if the items is plain ugly, or wearable but does not fit into my style, or from stuff I never wear, but that I got in a pleasant or funny situation. I think I need to get myself a large box for such items, to stop them from cluttering the space in my closet, and open it once in a while to laught at all those nice memories.

Written by Tonia

January 20, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey the leggings are from american apparel last summer, sorry I didn’t see your question until just now… thanks for the comment! =]

    xxx

    Fashion CHALET

    January 20, 2009 at 4:59 pm

  2. Love this look on you and the hair colour is divine!ove you comment, luckily I can look back and laugh now, was so hard to while I waasthere though!!

    marlboromartini

    January 20, 2009 at 11:54 pm

  3. You have amazing style! Love your blog!

    Jennifer Roos

    January 21, 2009 at 3:05 am

  4. I love your hat! It sits so well on your head, it makes me so envious! I always look rather bizzare in hats. Perhaps my head is too big.

    Looking gorgeous though!
    xx

    Petra B

    January 21, 2009 at 3:26 am

  5. oh your hat is awesome…floral dress looks awesome with all black too🙂 love it.

    oh yes topshop! think i may in fact make order number two on my pay day..haha i am bad.

    xx LM

    LoveMore

    January 22, 2009 at 11:39 am

  6. Fashion Chalet: Oh, that’s a shame, I really loved those. Well, I guess I’ll have to find something equally awesome elcewhere!
    marlboromartini: Thanks! I was constantly teased as the ginger kid when I was little, boohoo, but I appreciate my haircolour now. We all tend to laugh at our funny/odd misfortunes later, even if you wanted to kill someone at the time..
    Jennifer Roos: Thanks, you cannot imagine what your kind words mean to me!
    Petra: Hmm, I live in berets, and they are quite the lifesavers on bad hair days. You’d look soo cute in a bowler though!
    LoveMore: My relationship to Topshop orders is the same! Damn, they’re addictive!

    Tonia

    January 22, 2009 at 7:39 pm


Leave a Reply

