La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

Can’t quite make-up my mind

with 5 comments

After posting a set of positively gross pictures of me sans make up yesterday, I felt almost obligated to prove I actually own some (and also have a weird compulsion to go on and on about my make up routine). Plus, I know that when I can actually bother to do my make up, I look fucking awesome, and obviously, people would like to know how to look as good as me. (*wink wink*)

This is not everything I use at once, but rather the favourite items I rotate in my everyday use.

img_0570img_0572img_0568img_0577img_0576

Face: I usually use a YSL mattifying primer, however, I find it is too drying for winter months, so I just use a good moisturiser instead. I use Chanel Teint Innocence foundation in Cameo (the lightest shade), since it hides the redness, without looking really mask like. Of concealers, I use YSL Touche Eclat under the eyes (I find it pretty hard to blend) and Origins “Quick, Hide!” everywhere else. The Origins concealer is pretty good, exept that even the lightest shade is too dark/yellow for my skin. I also have the Benefit realness of concealness kit, and I can say I love the highlighter (“Moonbeam”) and their lipplumper. The eyeshadow primer is also good for covering minor under eye circles, but the concealer is several shades too dark for me. On top of my foudation and concealer, I apply the Shiseido powder foundation in colour “Natural Light Ivory” with a large brush. That way, I get some extra coverage without it being too heavy. If I feel like I need it, I’ll add some blush, usually by The Body Shop in “Desert Rose”.

Eyes: I fill out my eyebrows with the Isa Dora eyebrow pencil in the light brown shade, it seems to work for me. If I’m using eyeshadow, I apply primer on my lids first, to avoid greasy colour streaks in the crease at the end of the day. My absolute favourite is the Urban Decay Primer Potion I got in Oxford, I think ASOS carries it too. For a natural look, I use the Chanel “Beiges Velours” four eyeshadow set, and for a slightly more accentuated eye, M.A.C in “Scene”, which is the most perfect matte grey shade ever. I also love the dramatic eyeliner look, I either use Dior Style Liner in black, or M.A.C “Macroviolet” gel eyeliner. And the best mascara I have tried so far is Lancome L’Extreme, I apply it over Estee Lauder Lash Primer Plus, and curl my lashes with a heated eyelash curler by Model Co (Not awesome, but it doesn’t damage my lashes the way the mechanical eyelash curlers do). Oh, and I use a white eyeliner on the inner lash line to brighten my eyes up, it’s by L’Oreal, but it makes my eyes red, so probably not perfect. I have not had any luck with L’Oreal’s products.

Lips: I love, love, love lipstick. I use M.A.C “Angel” and Chanel “Charisma” (the top two in the photo) for a subtle look, and a red one from YSL and “Kirsch” and “Lustering” from M.A.C for a more dramatic look. To keep the things from bleeding all over my face, I use primers (the Benefit one or Prep+Prime from M.A.C, I love the one from Benefit a little more) and line my lips with a lipliner that matches the shade of the lippy (Clinique and Guerlain have good ones).

Other useful little things: Most of my brushes are from The Body Shop, they are the best you can get at that price. I also use the Vitry tweezer to pick a couple of stray hairs, as we don’t have the awesome Tweezerman products in Europe. Chanel base coat plus Essie quick drying top coat means any nailpolish is made awesome. My little magic potion is the Eight Hour Cream (of course, in the little cute limited edition jar), I use it on everything from hands, dry skin patches and sore lips, to keep eyebrows in place or mix with make up to make it blend better. And my very much favourite perfume is Burberry Beat.

Written by Tonia

March 4, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your collection of red lipsticks is amazing. I actually bought a dark rouge from MAC recently and I’m kinda in love with it.

    Fyi, dark chocolate counts as much as my mum telling me she’s cut down on the amont of TV she watches… cheaters!

    PP x

    Platform Princess

    March 5, 2009 at 9:50 am

  2. i go to FIDM in los angeles. its my first quarter there. its a lot of work, but so much fun. i definatly want to show at debut when i graduate.

    is that mac pot liner in purple? its so pretty. ive always used black liner, i think i want to experiment with dark purples now..

    im going to add your blog on my list🙂

    yuka

    March 5, 2009 at 10:55 am

  3. Takk:)
    Kan tenke meg det var mange flotte masker i den sexbutikken ja, skulle solgt meir sånt på kondomeriet, gjort det meir classy og frekt på samme tid.. kondomeriet e så simpelt og kjipt.

    Takk for mange tips her, masse sminke du har.. eg bruker concealer, id-pudder-foundation, rouge og mascara.. eg e litt kjedelig =D tenkte eg skulle skaffe meg ein highligther eller ka det heiter, tips om ein bra ein?

    Regine

    March 5, 2009 at 11:43 am

  4. Note: The lippies all look relatively red in the pictures, but the M.A.C in the lower left corner is more of a really intense pink, the darkest red is really dark, almost black, and the Chanel one is more of an orangey pink.

    PP: I find M.A.C lippies the best. And does it help that I hated dark chocolate until now?

    yuka: That school sounds awesome, haha. Going to school to learn.. fashion, what could be better than that? =P Yeah, it’s a really dark purple, it looks almost black on, and is a tad more flattering to me than the plain black

    Regine: Kondomeriet suger. Jeg har masse mer sminke, men jeg går også usminket litt for ofte. Jeg synes Benefit Moonbeam Highlighter er veldig god, men den føres jo ikke i Norge. Det beste hadde vært å gå på en bra parfymeri og spørre litt🙂

    Tonia

    March 5, 2009 at 12:31 pm

  5. Det er alltid morsomt med en sniktitt inn i andres sminkepung, garderobe, veske….ser vi har noen felles favoritter!😉

    Ladybird

    March 8, 2009 at 10:31 pm


Leave a Reply

