La Belle et la It Girl

Who needs friends when you can have shoes?

It’s not that hard, you know

with 9 comments

img_0740

img_0738

I’ve never really understood why everyone seemed to have such huge problems with doing the smoky eye. I just swipe some matte grey eyeshadow over my lid, apply some black liquid eyeliner and finish off with mascara. I did it today, and that’s what it looks like most of the time. No cheek make up whatsoever, and just rosebud on the lips (I sometimes wear red lipstick with it though, when I want to look kinda trashy). Seems foolproof, right, and since there are so many tutorial videos on youtube, learning this shouldn’t be a problem..

Then I watched some of those videos and I understood why.

As you can guess, this is going to be a really long rant about those so called youtube make up artists, which usually translates into sixteen-year-old girls who spend three hours daily to slap on foundation that’s three shades too dark.

There IS a reason why make up artists actually complete a higher education to work in their field. You have to learn how to apply those ten different shades of bronzer to give a models face the perfect definition, or how to make someones complexion withstand harsh lightning on the movie set. It’s when some high school girl with too little to do decides to emulate this that it turns into a disaster.

DON’T LET ME STARTED on the whole: “Use five different shades, most of those shimmering, to achieve the perfect smoky eye”. It doesn’t look cute, it looks drag-queenish, and half of the time it comes out wrong. Yes, even for going out (not that people care after five drinks). Same for graduated bright colours. Sorry, it just looks dated. Yes, I do get the need to bring out my eyes once in a while: and wearing one block of colour from your lash line to your crease is much more current, much harder to fuck up and doesn’t make you look like you were born a different gender (actually, drag queens are cool. Girls who try to look like them aren’t).

Oh, and after they applied their bright blue shimmering smoky eyes or rainbow eyeshadow, there is of course the rest of the face. Oh yes, go bronzer, highlighter, pink blush, dark blush, it makes your cheekbones soo sexy. Seriously, what happened to sticking to some foundation and a natural looking blush? Ugh, and don’t forget the frosted pink lips.

Fer serious, girls. Leave the make up advise to make up artists and stop embarassing yourself on the internet.

PS: I don’t have any problem with people just casually telling how they do their make up or what products they prefer, hell, I do it too. What pisses me off is when someone tries to play experts, and totally teach people “how to be as fab and pretty as themselves” without having any qualification to do so. Same with “style tips”. I have a fashion blog for the purpose of showing the world MY STYLE, but when some self proclaimed fashionistas are starting to play stylists for other people, and even ask to get paid for it, I feel like doing something that would land me in anger therapy.

Written by Tonia

March 30, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your skin is so fresh and smooth! Amazing. And you did a really great job with the smokey eye.

    xx

    Ida

    March 30, 2009 at 4:26 pm

  2. haha I agree, the simple smoky eye is best, no one likes to look like a drag queen! yours is perfect
    xx

    Victoria C

    March 30, 2009 at 6:00 pm

  3. Ida: Thank you so much. I did wear foundation/concealer/the works on this pic, so it’s not like my bare skin looks like this – I can attest that drinking water like a fish and treating my skin with some higher end products does help though.
    Victoria: Yes, I think the old rule about wearing three different shades of the same colour on the eye is at fault. It only works with nudes/beiges, really, anything else looks horrible.

    Tonia

    March 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

  4. OMG I FEEL YOU ON THIS. you say it so well! and so much nicer than i would have said it.

    i like the way you did your smoky eye. youre right, it does look 10x more current. and i think if you go heavy on the eye, go light on the cheek and lips. if you go heavy on the lips go light on the eyes. its just a general rule i follow.

    also, the tattoos in the editorial i posted were real.🙂

    yuka

    March 30, 2009 at 8:29 pm

  5. Haha, I tried to be nice.. People should realise that make up artist exist for a reason, and if you aren’t one, less is really more.
    I’ve seen instances where bright eyes and red lips worked together, I can scan the editorial from the magazine when I get back to Germany.. BUT it was done by professionals at MAC, something people should note.

    Tonia

    March 30, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  6. wow these are so pretty!

    emma

    March 31, 2009 at 4:30 am

  7. So true, girls with too much slap just look so, so trashy, and don’t even get me started on frosted pink lips trowelled on with about an inch of gloss …

    x

    Laroux

    March 31, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  8. heyy gooooorggeous! holy lashes.. i’m so jealous! Linked you🙂

    Charmaine

    March 31, 2009 at 10:10 pm

  9. Laroux: I know, why can’t people understand that frosted just isn’t cute. Creme is the way to go!
    Charmaine: Ohh, thank you love!🙂 I used a Chanel mascara with a weird brush first, and then brushed through the lashes with lancome l’extreme

    Tonia

    April 1, 2009 at 10:49 am


Leave a Reply

